Skip to content

Why I REFUSED to start writing a blog

September 1, 2011

I talked myself out of starting this blog. I did. I told myself, “That’s too much pressure to appear smart and funny. I’d feel pressure to generate consistent, meaningful content. I know I’d be tempted to check ‘my stats’ every day. Resist the urge Mark! Close the wordpress.com window and DON’T click on the start your blog by clicking here button”.

So I REFUSED to start a blog . . . until now.

Why start a blog? After all, the danger in writing a public blog is displaying my weaknesses and ignorance. My vanity and pride will surely try to overtake me along the way.

However, I’m starting this blog because I want to learn. Forcing myself to articulate what I’m learning and having others contribute is the reward. So my goal is that I will become better leader by interacting with you from time to time.

Today, I refused to listen to me (or at least my fears) and started a blog. Now, if I can just resist the urge to check my stats until I post again on Monday.

From → Leadership

Leave a Comment

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

