Skip to content

Making a Difference vs. Making a Point

October 19, 2011

Recently a door-to-door salesman came to my house in Texas late one evening trying to sell me a home security service. Now, I imagine that is a hard job. However, it became unsettling when this stranger stood at my door late at night asking, “Do you have a home security system?”

Quickly into the conversation I told the salesman, “Thanks but I’m not interested.” Which he clearly interpreted to mean, “I’m considering it but you need to pitch me your product more thoroughly and with greater persistence” because that’s exactly what he did.

No matter what I said I couldn’t get this man to leave. Then it went from frustrating to creepy. This stranger began to question whether or not I was actually the home owner because “any true home owner would care enough about their home’s safety to purchase a security system”. Seriously? He then insisted that I at least recognize the value of a home security system. By now he knew that I would never buy from him. Yet he insisted I recognize his point. When he finally left it bothered me so much that I called the police who said they had already received several calls and were trying to locate him.

Here’s the crazy thing: I actually needed a home security monitoring service. But this salesman’s approach prevented me from even considering what I actually needed.

I remember attending a staff meeting at North Point when Andy Stanley said, “It’s much easier to make a point than to make a difference.”

Some Christians I’ve known and even some churches focus more on making a point. We may know Scripture well, have a firm grip on our systematic theology and be able to craft our argument in a compelling way. In making our point we can fail to make a difference.

So as I craft my conversations, sermons, blogs, ministries, and relationships I hope to shoot for the higher goal of making a difference instead of settling for simply making a point.

Maybe I’m stretching this analogy too far but I felt something while receiving this hard pitch that I believe no unchurched person should ever feel.

Tomorrow I’ll share some thoughts on how churches can make a difference instead of just making points . . .

UPDATE: Here’s the link PART 2.

From → Leadership, Ministry

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Making a Difference vs. Making a Point – Part 2 «

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

