Skip to content

I’m a Fortune Teller!

November 14, 2011

Last week I was at a teller’s window at my bank. (BTW, most banks in Texas have a drive-thru but in California that’s rare.) So while I’m standing at the teller’s window I hear the customer beside me say to the teller, “I’m a fortune teller. I read palms and can see people’s future.” The teller smiled and nicely said, “Oh yea?!” After a couple of awkwardly silent moments the teller politely said, “I’m sorry this card cannot be used here.” Embarrassed the fortune teller left the bank.

I know what you’re thinking. “If she was a fortune teller shouldn’t she have seen that coming?” Stop thinking that way. That’s not nice.

But you should know that I AM a fortune teller. Well . . . sort of.

I don’t know your goals but if you let me see who’s influencing you, I can predict your future. And, you can predict mine.

“Your friends determine the quality & direction of your life.” – Andy Stanley

Solomon said, “Walk with the wise and become wise, for a companion of fools suffers harm.” (Prov 13:20)

Do you want to develop a more positive outlook? Are you wanting to become a better leader? Do you want a closer relationship with Jesus Christ?

Solomon suggests two steps: 

1. Choose wise relationships

Wise people know the difference between right and wrong and do what’s right even when it’s hard.

2. Eliminate unhealthy relationships.

If you sleep with dogs, you’re gonna get fleas.

Fools know the difference between right and wrong but choose to do what is wrong.

“At some point, you have to realize that some people can stay in your heart but not in your life.”

I don’t know your goals but let me see your friends and I can predict your future.

From → Leadership, Theology

3 Comments
  1. Hey Mark,

    Great job this weekend! During my devotional today, I happened across another powerful verse that underscores your message. From 1 Corinthians 15:33, Do not be misled: “Bad company corrupts good character.”

    Maranatha!
    Doug

    • Thanks Doug! This weekend was so enjoyable and I was reminded how fortunate I am to serve here. That is a powerful verse. I love the disclaimer: “Do not be misled”. Apparently all of us have always been tempted to think we can become strong enough to be above the influence of bad company. Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 5 Blog Posts in November «

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

