Skip to content

What’s Your Grand Canyon?

August 2, 2012

You want to lose weight? Want to write a book? Want to finally pursue Christ fully? Want to grow your church? Want to raise great kids? Want to become debt-free? Want to find a more fulfilling job?

Your dream is probably being stopped by only one thing. I know you’re thinking, “One thing? There are several things preventing me.”

It may feel like there are several things but there’s probably only one BIG thing. What’s the single biggest thing keeping you from moving forward?

Today our family’s visiting the Grand Canyon. (In case you haven’t heard, it’s pretty big.) If I want to get to the other side there’s only one big canyon in my way. Similarly, between you and your dream there is one big obstacle in your way. What is it? What’s your personal “Grand Canyon”?

Your Grand Canyon could be improving your attitude (mental focus), improving your physical fitness, finishing or furthering your education, disciplining your schedule, refining your craft, committing to spiritual disciplines, finding rest (physically or mentally), developing a hobby (refilling your emotional tank), or investing in your family.

In 7 Habits of Highly Effective PeopleStephen Covey asks, “What one thing could you do (that you aren’t doing now) that if you did on a regular basis, would make a tremendous positive difference in your professional and/or personal life?

For me my single biggest hurdle has been my physical fitness. I have struggled in this area. So I recently identified this as my “single biggest hurdle”.

Zig Ziglar says over our lifetime “we may lose millions of dollars of revenue for our family when we allow ourselves to be unfit physically.”  Even if money doesn’t motivate you clearly there is lost energy, opportunity, and impact that is staggering over a lifetime.

I identified my hurdle. I began to exercise more, eat healthier (portions and types of food), and utilize a “personal trainer” via the LoseIt App on my iPhone. Right now, I’m having some success with my fitness but I know it’s a daily battle for me to fight.

As I have gotten healthier my energy, confidence, and, I believe, opportunities for influence have increased.

So how about you? What’s the SINGLE biggest hurdle to your success? What’s your Grand Canyon?

Leave a Comment

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

