Skip to content

September, 2001 as I remember it

September 11, 2012

Eleven year ago this morning, I went to work assuming it would be a typical Tuesday. When I walked into my office, I saw two of my co-workers watching my office TV. They quickly brought me up to speed saying 2 planes had flown into the “World Trade Center”. My immediate thought was “What’s the ‘World Trade Center’?” (I’d actually taken THIS pic of it a few years earlier.)

Like all Americans, over the next few minutes I saw images that would remain seared in my mind. When the towers actually fell, like you, I was overwhelmed. I felt paralyzed. With each passing minute everything felt more cataclysmic.

Over the next few days, I heard terms like Al Quada, sleeper cells, and Osama Bin Ladin. Each term seemed to reveal more darkness and hate.

The paradox for our family occurred two weeks later when my wife delivered our first baby. Our little girl was born on September 24th. She was and is a beautiful miracle straight from the hands of God.

I remember September, 2001 as darkness followed by beauty.

Today, we’ll all remember the impact of 9/11. Then tonight I’ll take our almost 11-year old daughter to church for Kid’s Choir rehearsal.

Life is a paradox isn’t it?

Amidst the darkness, we can embrace His blessings.

From → Family, Leadership

Leave a Comment

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

