Skip to content

The question that stopped me in my tracks

September 17, 2012

“Do you believe God is the greatest thing you can experience in the world?”

That question stopped me in my tracks.

I was tempted to quickly respond, “of course!” and move on but something inside me revealed an uneasy tension. I forced myself to pause and dive deeper.

At the risk of hyperbole, what I discovered is altering my understanding and relationship with God.

Most of my life I believed this statement: Serving God is the greatest thing in the world to experience = Statement #1. Yet, this question reminded me that God is the greatest thing in the world to experience = Statement #2. See the subtle difference?

Statement #1: “Serving God is the greatest thing in the world to experience” results in:

– When I serve God effectively I please Him and He embraces me more

– God is sorta lovingly embarrassed when my service is less effective (this makes the pressure of ministry unbearable at times)

– God’s primary way of measuring my love for Him is my service (this causes me to sometimes feel proud and other times feel guilty based on ministry effectiveness)

Statement #2: “God is the greatest thing in the world to experience” results in:

– I can embrace God’s complete love regardless of what I produce (According to Jer. 1 He knew me and set me apart before He formed me in my Mom’s womb – before I produced anything)

– I connect with God independent of my ministry (My ministry is a response to God’s call. My relationship is a result of God’s sacrificial pursuit of me.)

How about you? What do you genuinely believe is the greatest thing in the world to experience?

2 Comments
  1. Randy Wellik permalink

    I live swinging on a pendulum by what I think God thinks of me instead of reading His Word that tells me the truth about unconditional love and the freedom I can experience in Christ. Thank you for sharing your insights.

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

