Skip to content

Swinging on the front porch w/Ginger until 4am

September 20, 2012

It’s easy to remember the pain, the hurts, and the disappointments.

I’m reading a book in which the author encouraged readers to describe the greatest moment of love they’ve ever experienced as an antidote to recalling negative memories. So I decided to participate in order to get the most out of the book.

Here’s my moment:

It was June 6, 1996. I was flying back to the U.S. after serving a one year “remote” tour in South Korea as a member of the U.S. Air Force. My returning flight was delayed and I arrived in San Angelo, Texas around 10:00pm. Anxiously waiting for me in the small, desolate airport terminal was my fiancé, Ginger.

We had been anticipating this night for more than a year. This would be the night our long separation would finally end.

We went to Ginger’s parent’s house and, in the dark of night, sat on the front porch swing talking until 4:00am. I can’t remember what we talked about but I vividly remember how I felt. My heart felt fully alive, deeply happy, uncontrollably giddy, yet somehow peaceful. I could sense that my love for Ginger was exactly how she felt toward me. We were in love.

I knew that Ginger was the beautiful woman that God had chosen for me. That night as Ginger talked her eyes sparkled and her smile was big. Our hearts reconnected and we knew this “thing” was permanent.

That night, those feelings, that interaction, that never-ending conversation was the best experience of love I have ever had.

Taking the time to remember, re-live, and then describe “my moment” has been incredibly heart-filling.

How about you? What’s your moment? You may be surprised by how much good this excercise does your heart.

From → Family, Leadership

Leave a Comment

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

