Skip to content

3 things I don’t like about my current small group

January 28, 2013

I believe small group participation is hard but worth it. It’s easy to focus on the worth it part while ignoring the hard part.

Personally, I love my small group. In fact, you can watch THIS 7 minute video of our group chatting last week.

groups logo pp

But I gotta be honest and tell you something. There are 3 things I don’t like about my current small group (and every group I’ve been a part of):

1) Giving up an evening every week

2) Trying to figure out who’s gonna watch my kids

3) The day of group I often dread it instead of anticipating it

Can you believe that I actually lead the small group ministry at our church?

But I still think you should absolutely join a small group. Why? Over my lifetime, I can not think of any single factor that has grown my faith more than the friendships I’ve formed in small groups. Watching others’ faith grow inspires me. Giving others access to my life motivates me. Being encouraged through tough times sustains me.

So, how about you? What are some of the things that make the small group experience hard but worth it? You can be honest. 🙂

4 Comments
  1. I think there are things about men that keep them away from the small group setting. One, most of us are kinestetic learners. Smal groups mostly sit and talk. Second, men don’t like to or know how to open up about feelings and struggles. Groups tend to be dominated by strong women, and that shuts some guys down.
    But if they hang in there, they find huge benefit. That challenge for people like us is to help small groups be a welcoming place to get connected so more guys will get to the tipping point of that hard/worth it tension.

  2. Great point Brad. We should design a group system with this in mind. We try and engage men through mountain bike, motorcycle, gamer, & photography groups. Also, several Men Bible Study Groups. These are a smaller steps for many men vs. couple’s groups. I believe simply getting men “in the game” in any type of group setting helps them experience the value of community. Thanks Brad.

  3. Steve permalink

    The points you’ve made are certainly valid ones Mark. Past groups I’ve been a part of have addressed them by:
    – taking a week off once a month (or having bi-weekly gatherings). This also touches on your 3rd point as the “burn out” is not there; rather one tends to be refreshed and eager to re-engage with the group.
    – years ago when our kids were young we had group on Fridays. We arranged for high school aged youth from the church to care for them for a couple of hours.

    hope this helps –

    Steve

    • Great suggestions Steve. My small group now meets 3 weeks a month which provides a nice pace for the reasons you mention. Thanks Steve.

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

