Skip to content

LOVE DOES

February 25, 2013

I didn’t want to purchase Bob Goff’s book, LOVE DOES. Sorry Bob. I’ve heard him speak (amazing) and read the positive reviews on his book. Still didn’t buy it. Why? I was afraid it was a “you’re gonna feel guilty about not doing more” kinda book. Since I don’t enjoy feeling guilty, I didn’t get the book.

love does

Last week a friend sent me a copy so I figured it was time to quit avoiding it. This weekend I read it . . . actually, I devoured it.

It surprised me. After all, I didn’t expect to discover a Washington D.C. lawyer who skateboards to work, occasionally offices at Disneyland’s Tom Sawyer Island, and is passionately attempting to rescue an entire generation of exploited children in Uganda and India.

I finished the book inspired to pray “impossible prayers”.

Today, I want to mail YOU a copy. Seriously.

Bob’s unbelievable stories make this book a page turner! Here are a few inspiring quotes:

“I used to be afraid at failing at the things that really mattered to me, but now I’m more afraid of succeeding at the things that don’t matter.”

“I want to step up to the plate and swing so hard that I hit a home run or when I miss my bat comes around and hits the umpire in the back of the head.”

“When we accept life’s invitation to participate, it’s contagious too. Other people will watch us and start seeing life as something more amazing, more whimsical than before.”

“Lots of people who trust God seem to be wired to live near the edge.”

“God delights in answering our impossible prayers.”

I want to mail you a copy of this book. Why? I believe in this message.

Leave a comment below and I’ll randomly select one person to send a free copy of this important book. In your comment you may recommend another book, share your “impossible prayer”, or just leave your name.

From → Leadership, Ministry

2 Comments
  1. Katie Moore permalink

    Katie Moore.

    Hay Mark. Giving a book away is totally cool!

    I think you know my story. lol The fun part is that in the last 1.5 years I have become less obsessed with myself and more concerned with loving others; friends and strangers.

    This book sounds amazing and life changing. The last few books I have read have totally changed me. I’m in chapter 2 of Undaunted by Christine Caine and I know it’s gonna mess me up. lol

    If you’re looking for some light reading, yet slap your face good, check these books out:

    Interrupted – Jen Hatmaker
    7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess – Jen Hatmaker
    Kisses from Katie – Katie Davis

    Next on my list to finish reading is The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Stearns

    have a great day. 🙂

    • Katie I love the story you & Brandn are writing! Interestingly, someone recently gave me a copy of The Hole in Our Gospel and it’s on my list to read too. The other 3 books you mention I haven’t read but I’ve heard they’re great. Thanks for recommending them! Hope you guys are doing well as you are a great examples that love DOES!

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

