Skip to content

I’d love to hear YOUR story

April 29, 2013

I’m looking for stories of personal forgiveness.

One of the reasons people struggle to become forgivers is they don’t see many examples. (I shared my 3-year grudge HERE.)

Author Lewis Smedes said, “I learned about forgiving, not by reading books, but by listening to good forgivers.”

In a profound example of cosmic irony, God uses other people to heal the wounds that other people inflict.

‘If it’s true that ‘hurt people hurt people,’ then it’s also true that ‘healed people heal people.’’ – David Nasser

If you’ve been able to release a grudge, are others being healed by your story?

what's your story

I’m looking for stories of forgiveness. What’s YOUR story? (I won’t share anything without receiving your permission.)

If you’re willing to share your story with me, please email your story to markariggins@yahoo.com.

This Friday, we will continue our #ForgivenessFriday series.

From → Forgiveness

2 Comments
  1. Sabrina permalink

    This was very helpful. I would like to say that it is easy to forgive but that doesn’t always seem to be the vase for me. Sometimes I get triggers that taker back to a place that I didn’t want to go. A place that I still have strong feelings of anger, bitterness and resentment that is connected to one of these three initial feelings of fear, hurt and/or frustration. I desire to forgive and release my offender. I gave been healed in very wounded areas of my heart and soul. Then, another area that becomes exposed is raw and I realize I have to surrender and let go at even deeper levels. I cannot do this by myself. I need the Holy Spirit to help me with my raw emotions. I need to feel them and not ignore them and repress them as though they don’t exist. I am a human being with God given abilities to work through the deep hurts, fears and frustration that can occur in anyone’s life. Not always easy but I do like to face them head on. That’s my style. I don’t like the grudge bearing but I struggle with it on spite of my strong desire to forgive. I’m not proud of it that’s for sure. With working through my own stuff I gain freedom. Ahhh freedom is sweet and it comes by accepting that it may not work out the way we planned in most situations. I just feel that the price is far too high for me not to forgive. It costs me my well-being. I’m not willing to compromise that. So I choose to continue the journey to healing. I want those who have hurt me or the people I care about to be with Jesus one day also. My issue is that I have held onto control and expected them to answer to me rather than God. I have also wanted them to suffer for what they put me or a loved one through. Being real about how I really feel. Being transparent can scare people sometimes. I’m ok with that. God know this journey hasn’t been an easy one but by choising this higher road that Jesus walked, I am able to help point others to Christ Jesus. I choose to lay my pride down in exchange for His healing power. As I do, God can walk through those dry cracked and sometimes raw and bleeding places into heart and soul and of my offenders and bring new life. I believe it is worth it. God replaces lies with truth everyday I am transformed by the renewing of my mind, even if it doesn’t always come easily. God can change me and He will do the work. My part is to ask for help and cooperate with the Holy Spirit’s work. I’m sti a work in progress just like everybody else of this journey in life. I like where God is leading me…out of captivity and into freedom. I am headed for the promised land. The boundary lines have fallen in pleasant places for me. Thank God for His love, grace and mercy. Sabrina 🙂

    • Sabrina I love your transparency. Like you, I have those triggers. I love how you’re pursuing forgiveness even when it’s messy.

Join the conversation by sharing your comments

